Archive | Club News

RSS feed for this section

Major Curling Club Upgrades Begin!


After 40-plus years of heavy use and world championships, $600,000 upgrade to Duluth Curling Club begins Thursday

Thursday News Conference

10:00 a.m. Thursday August 25, 2016

Duluth Curling Club “clubroom” (the bar/restaurant area

off the DECC Skywalk that overlooks the ice)


The Duluth Curling Club, located within the Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, has been where national and world championships have been held, Olympic and World medalists have fine-tuned their skills, and thousands of men, women and children have learned and enjoyed the game.

All this activity had taken place for more than 40 years atop the original, now-obsolete cooling tubing. But that all will change Thursday when a new, $600,000 floor will be installed. The news conference is being held at 10 a.m. because that’s when 450 cubic yards of concrete will be poured atop 10 miles of new cooling tubing.

“The Duluth Curling Club facility, with its eight ice sheets, spacious clubroom, locker facilities and great viewing areas, is known throughout the sport as one of the nicest such facilities in the world,” said Duluth Curling Club President Linda Christensen, who will speak at the news conference along with DECC Executive Director Dan Russell. “But keeping our ice up to those standards had become more challenging in recent years, which is why Thursday will be such a great day for curling.”

The Duluth Curling Club contributed $400,000 of the total cost for improvements and the DECC paid the remaining portion. A news release with complete details will be distributed at the news conference.


“Improvements Coming to Duluth Curling Club” Northland News Center clip Aug 24, 2016

Send off party for Will, Leah, Nick, and Alyssa

Please join us for a farewell party for DCC bartenders Will, Leah, Nick and Alyssa.  Saturday April 30th 7:00 PM Apps and Cash Bar at Ridgeview Country Club (700 W Redwing St.)

Golf tee times are available between 1-2PM for $50 each (includes cart)
Appropriate dress code will be enforced.  No jeans with holes and men must wear a collared shirt.

Thank you Will, Leah, Nick and Alyssa for many years of wonderful service to our members and club.  You will be missed!

Please RSVP to Tom Eng 218-591-1040 for the party. Tee times can also be reserved with Tom.

DCC Dinner and Auction May 11th

Please join us Wednesday May 11, 2016 at the Kitchi Gamma Club* for a dinner and auction to benefit the new floor.

6:00 Social hour – Cash Bar
7:00 Dinner – Pork and Whitefish Buffet
8:00 Silent Auction** Closes
8:30-11:00 Music – Party Marty Herman

Auction** will include:

  • 2 Tickets to the Ryder Cup, International Pavillion Pass. Saturday Oct 1, 2016- Chaska, MN
    Donated by Bryan Meyers
  • 5 Dozen of Mary Broman’s cookies
  • Progressive dinner on Island Lake. Mutually agreeable date, summer of 2016
    Donated by Linda and Terry Christensen, George and Connie Host, and Bill and Deb Roach
  • Aerial Lift Print by John Peyton, Donated by Doug and Kris Cameron
  • Terry Redlin Print “Evening-Solitude”, Donated by Adam and Amy Schwartz-Lowe
  • One week (Sat.-Sat.) at Hacienda Del Mar Resort in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico in a Junior Suite. For use in 2016, excludes holidays. Donated by Adam and Amy Schwartz-Lowe (minimum bid of $600)
  • Ice Time for up to 8 people at the Four Seasons Club in Blaine, donated by Regan Birr
  • Wine and Things Basket, Donated by Joanne and Ken Docteur
  • Limited edition curling print by Wm Koelpin, Donated by the family of Edith Mary Jordet

Reserve your spot by sending a check for $50 (made out to the DCC) to the Kitchi Gammi Club. Must be received by May 4th. Please address to:

Kitchi Gammi Club
Attn: Renee Meyers
831 East Superior Street
Duluth, MN 55802

Have questions or an item to donate? Please contact:

Renee Meyers
Joanne Docteur

* The Kitchi Gammi Club is a private club with a dress code (Jackets and ties for men, no jeans in the upper level (women can wear dress pants).
** Auction will close at 8:00 pm. All auction items must be paid before the close of the evening. Payments can be made with cash or check made out to the DCC. Proxy Bids will be accepted by contacting Renee Meyers with a minimum bid, raise amount and maximum bid.

2015-16 League Winners

Thank you members for an incredible season!  Congratulations to all the league winners!

Sunday 5pm Open – Team Roach – Bill Roach, Deb Roach, Eric Beste, Bonnie Beste, Kevin Rappana and Mike Olson.


Sunday 7pm Open – Team Luttinen – Jim Luttinen – Nathan Helder, Jed Lahti, Joey Helder and Parnell Lutz.


Monday 5pm Open – Team Birman – Dean Birman, Eric Nelson, Riley Geissler and Gary Johnson.


Monday 7pm Mixed – Team Polo – Joe Polo, Kristen Polo, Tom Vesel and Shana Vesel.


Tuesday 6pm Men’s – Team George – Tyler George, Tony Trenberth, Darren Vogt, Paul Wojciak and Andy Rootes.


Tuesday 8pm Open – Team Georges Liquor – Tyler George, Tanner Hammerschmidt, Matt Wicklund, Eric Bergquist and Tom George.


Wednesday 5pm Open – Team Clabaugh – Mike Clabaugh, Scott Scheirbeck, Andy Skildum, Phil Spindler and Lars Benson.


Wednesday 7pm Women’s – Team Kraus – Jamie Kraus, Kerry Hadiaris, Amy Swanoski, Amy Onken and Kari Johnson.


Thursday 4pm Open – Team Luttinen – Jim Luttinen, Bob Johnson, Jed Lahti and Neil Stalker.


Thursday 6pm Open – Team Trenberth – Tony Trenberth, Andy Rootes, Jeff Goetzman, Jon Fiskness and Noah Johnson.


Thursday 8pm Men’s  – Team DeVore –  Phil DeVore, Jeff Gunderson, Jon Wirtanen, Mike Gorichs and Jeff Ritchie.

Ladies Spring Meeting

The women’s spring meeting will be March 23rd at the DCC.  Social Hour at 5:30pm and short meeting at 6:00pm. Dinner special will be available for purchase.  Women’s board elections will be held at the meeting.  Absentee ballots will be available March 16th in the DCC Office.

Fun Night Friday Feb 19th

Our one and only Fun Night of this year will be Friday, February 19th at 6:30pm.  Bring family and friends to curl and enjoy music by “Party Marty”.  These events are always a blast so mark your calendars now!  More details soon.

Duluth Curlers Win top 2 events at Osbakken Spiel in Two Harbors

Congratulations to Duluth curlers who competed in the Two Harbor’s Jim Osbakken Open Spiel last weekend.  Dave Running, Eric Bergquist, Matt Wicklund, and Hans Mueller won the ‘A’ event, defeating Jess Brozic, Tom Brozic, Felipe DeSalvo, and Jill Brozic in the final.  Norma O’Leary, Phil DeVore, Mary Shields, and Lucy DeVore won the ‘B’ event.  Craig Quitschau, Alyssa Quitschau, Gordy Atol, and Jim Atol were runners-up in the ‘D’ event.


A Event Champions Dave Running, Eric Bergquist, Matt Wicklund, and Hans Mueller


B Event Champions: Norma O’Leary, Phil DeVore, Mary Shields, and Lucy DeVore


Junior National Champions!

Congratulations to Duluth Curlers: Cory Christensen, Korey Dropkin, and Quinn Evenson 2016 USA National Junior Champions!!!

The Christensen rink: Cory Christensen (Duluth), Sarah Anderson (Broomall, PA), Taylor Anderson (Broomall, PA), Madison Bear (Pardeeville, WI), and Christine McMakin (St. Paul, MN)  defeated the Melissa Runing (North Mankato, Minn.) rink and her team of Courtney Osbakken (Two Harbors), Cait Flannery (Mankato, MN), and Alyson Deegan (St. Peter, MN).

The Dropkin rink: Korey Dropkin (Duluth) and teammates Tom Howell (Bentleyville, OH), Mark Fenner (Bemidji, MN), Alex Fenson (Bemidji, MN), and Quinn Evenson (Fairbanks, Alaska) defearted the Hunter Clawson (MD) rink:  Cody Clouser (Berwyn, PA), Caleb Clawson (Clarksville, MD), Andrew Dunnam (Dresher, PA), and Eli Clawson (Clarksville, MD)

The teams will represent the USA at the World Junior Curling Championships March 5-13th in Erzurum, Turkey.

View Press release from USA Curling