Archive | Club News

RSS feed for this section

Thank you members!

Congratulations on an incredible 2010-2011 season. See you next year!

The Duluth Curling Club held final matches for the Bagley, Open, Slug Tolo and Lakeside Curling Championships during the 120th annual spring membership meeting on Friday, April 1, 2011. Members elected to the Board of Directors were Linda Christensen, Phil DeVore and Tom Eng. Curlers of the year were Noncy Odden and Doug Britton. Rookies of the year were Nathan and Jennifer Hartmark.

Ladies Year End Elections and Party

All ladies of the club, please join us Wednesday March 30th for our annual end of the year party and election. You do not need to be a part of the ladies league to participate. 5:30 social, 6:00 dinner, 6:30 ladies board election, 7:00 broomstacking. We will also have a short meeting and awards. Please join us!

Year End Banquet April 1

Join us for the end of the year banquet Friday April 1st.  Eat, Drink, and Celebrate a great season!  $1 beers and free drawings.  Cast your vote in this year’s board election.

Duluth Ladies Win Gopher State 2nd Event

The Payette rink had a solid weekend in Hibbing at the 2011 Gopher State. They soundly defeated the Bromanshanko rink from Itaska 10-4 in 7 ends to win the event. Congratulations Barb Payette, Jamie Crump, Kerry Hadiaris, and Katie Waller.

One on One Luncheon March 30th

Join us at noon for lunch and league prizes. Lunch is $5. Please sign up on the bulletin board downstairs in the club. All games must be completed by Monday March 28th.

Senior Appreciation Night

Please come to the club and enjoy senior appreciation night March 23rd from 6pm – 8pm.  We are celebrating our seniors including: Rudy Senich, Walt Peterson, and Eli Kokotovich who have curled and supported our club for many years.

Nominees for the 2011 Board Election

The following individuals are running for 3 open seats on the DCC Board of Directors:  Linda Christensen (I), Phil DeVore (I), Tom Eng, Jim Luttinen, and Nancy Odden.  Election takes place on April 1st at the end of the year Banquet.  Absentee ballots now available in the office.

Welcome Back Tony Lasky!

Please join us March 31st to celebrate Tony’s return to the Duluth Curling Club. Festivities begin at 6:00pm at the DCC.

Team Sormunen wins 2011 National Club Championship

Seppo Sormunen and teammates Jeff Ritchie, Michael Huska and Roger Hendrickson defeated the number 2 seed, Jeff Wright’s Illinois team, 8-7, in an extra-end to claim the 2011 National Club Championship. They were among 4 teams to finish 5 and 4 in round robin play for the 3 and 4 seed in the semifinals. They defeated Michigan in a tie breaker, then the number 1 seed North Dakota in the semifinals to advance to the final game against Illinois.  Congratulations gentlemen!