Archive | Club News

RSS feed for this section

Duluth Curlers win big at Junior Nationals

Congratulations to the Cory Christensen (Cory Christensen, Sarah Anderson, Mackenzie Lank, Jenna Haag and Taylor Anderson) and Ethan Meyers rinks (Ethan Meyers, Quinn Evenson, Steven Szemple and William Pryor) on winning the 2015 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Devils Lake, ND. The teams will represent the U.S. at the 2015 World Junior Championships in Estonia Feb. 28-March 8.

Duluth International Open Bonspiel – February 13 – 15, 2015

Sign up now for the Duluth International Open Bonspiel – February 13 – 15, 2015.  Any team – Men’s – Women’s – Mixed or Open roster welcome.  Limited to the first 32 teams.  Three game guarantee.  Drawing for free lodging at the Radisson Duluth.  Sign up online or email

Norma O’Leary Rink Wins State Club Championship

Congratulations to the Norma O’Leary Rink (Norma O’Leary, Jamie Kraus, Mary Shields, and Sara Shuster) on winning the ladies club State Championship.  The team will now advance to the 2015 USA Curling Club National Championships March 7-14 at the Fargo-Moorhead Curling Club.   Congratulations ladies and Good Curling in Fargo!

Osbakken Rink heads to Junior Nationals

Duluth’s Osbakken rink (Courtney Osbakken, Lexi Lanigan, Emma Bromenschenkel, and Rebecca Miles) played in the Minnesota State Junior play Downs in Bemidji, MN on January 1-4, 2015. They won all 4 of their games and are very excited to advance to Nationals as Minnesota 1!  The National competition will be held in Devils Lake, ND January 17-24, 2015. The team is both honored and proud to represent not only Minnesota, but the Duluth Curling Club.  Good curling ladies!

Bruce Bennett Results

30 Teams competed from Thunder Bay, St. Paul, Madison, Rice Lake, Two Harbors , Superior and Duluth.

Main event:  The Tim Dillon rink of Duluth defeated the Ross Litman rink of Duluth – Team members are Tim Dillon, skip – Neil Stalker, third,  – Bob Johnson, second and Jim Luttinen, lead.

B event: The Dave Running rink of Duluth defeated Tim Funk rink of Madison, Wi – Team members are Dave Running, skip – Tom Brozic – third, Jess Brozic, second and Gene Running, lead.

C event:  The Mike Marquardt rink of Duluth defeated the Mike Akervik rink of Duluth – Team members are Mike Marquardt, skip – Jeremy Zeman, third – Tom Zeman, second and Jim Milner, lead.

D event:  The Jeff Erickson Rink of Duluth defeated the Brent Carey rink of Thunder Bay – Team members are Jeff Erickson, skip – Roy Glanville, third – Mike Kolb, second and Roger Hendrickson, lead.


DCC Ladies: Want to curl in Scotland?

In the fall of 2016, there will be a group of women’s curlers going to Scotland to tour and curl.  If you are interested, please stop by the office and pick up an application form!  Registration is due by January 31.

Email Joanne Docteur with questions:

Fun Night Jan 31st!

Join us Saturday Jan 31st for an Open Curl – Fun night at 6pm!  Fun nights are a great way to introduce your friends to curling.  Curling instruction will be available.  Party Marty will be playing again and there will be Door prizes, music, and a night of fun!  Email Joanne Docteur with Questions

Elizabeth Busche Memorial Junior Spiel Results

Twenty junior teams competed in the 2nd annual Elizabeth Busche Memorial Junior Bonspiel December 19, 20 and 21 , 2014.  Finals in the 4 divisions are as follows:


Competitive Boys winners:  Team Fenson, Bemidji Curling Club  – Noah Leinen, lead – Eric Jaeger, 2nd – Josh Moore, 3rd and Riley Fenson, Skip

Runners up: Team Harstad, Duluth Curling Club  –  Paul Bastianelli, Lead – Jack Payette, 2nd – Brody Russell, 3rd and Jon Harstad, Skip


Competitive Open winners:  Team Quello, Bemidji Curling Club  – Mackenzie Ritchie, Lead – Joel Johannsen, 2nd – Courtney Fulmer, 3rd and Emily Quello, Skip

Runners up:  Team Osbakken, Duluth Curling Club  –  Jake Miles, alternate –  Rebecca Miles, Lead –  Emma Bromenschenkel, 2nd – Leki Lanigan, 3rd and Courtney Osbakken, Skip


Developing group winners: Team Maloney, Brainerd Lakes Curling Club  –  Eli Uban, Lead/2nd   –  Teagan Maloney, 3rd and Patrick Maloney, Skip

Runners up:  Team Goetzman, Duluth Curling Club  –  Tommy Rawlyk, Lead – Trenton Thomas, 2nd – Matt Johnson, 3rd and Lucas Goetzman, Skip


Recreational Group winners:  Team Marriott, St. Paul curling Club:  Jack Aysta, Lead – Sidney Harris, 2nd – Kevin Tuma, 3rd and Ryan Marriott, Skip

Runners up:  Team Zeman, Duluth Curling Club – Colten Ball, Lead – Soren McGrew, 2nd – Luc Bolin, 3rd and Jake Zeman, Skip