Archive | Club News

RSS feed

Duluth Teams Win Men’s Spiel in Two Harbors

Congratulations to three Duluth teams which won all three events at the Two Harbors Men’s International Spiel on January 23rd. Winning the A event were Bob Magie, Tom Brozic, Jess Brozic, and Mike Piper. The B event was won by Phil Devore, Lee Leksell, Doug Cameron, and Terry Christensen. The C event was won by Ross Litman, Sammy Perella, Dave Johnson, and Mike Kniffon.

Joe Polo and Fenson rink help win Continental Cup

Duluth Curling Club’s Joe Polo and the Pete Fenson rink helped win the Continental Cup for North America against the World on Sunday January 16th. This competition is similar to golf’s Ryder Cup. Joe says it was by far the most fun he has had in curling. Congratulations!

U.S. Women’s National Curling Championships

Congratulations to two women’s teams: Norma O’Leary (Two Harbors), Margie Smith (St. Paul), Theresa Hoffoss (St. Paul), Patti Luke (Duluth), and Eileen Sormunen (Duluth), Courtney George (Duluth), Amanda McLean (Duluth), and Miranda Solem (Itasca). Both teams qualified for the 2011 U.S. women’s curling National Championships, Feb 12-19 in Fargo.

Minnesota Men’s State Curling Club Champions!

Congratulations to Seppo Sormunen, Jeff Ritchie, Mike Huska, and Roger Hendrickson, winners of this year’s Minnesota Men’s State Club Championship! They will go on to represent Minnesota at U.S. Club Nationals March 5- March 12 in Mankato.

Scot tour schedule change

The curling match between the Scot and Duluth/Superior ladies has been changed.  Instead of Monday, January 24th at 9:30am, it will be Monday, January 24th at 9:00am.  Please contact Barb Payette if you have questions.

Minnesota Senior Men’s State Curling Champs

Congratulations to Duluth senior mens curlers! In a strong field, Phil DeVore, Seppo Sormunen, Doug Cameron, and Roger Hendrickson defeated John Medure, Tony Beraducci, Jim Hill, and Kevin Kemp in an extra end for the Minnesota Senior Men’s State Championship title.

Spaghetti Feed TONIGHT!

Bring your appetite on Tuesday January 25th at 5pm and help the Juniors raise money for their trip to the Junior Nationals in Alaska. Tickets will be available in advance from participating Junior Curlers or can be purchased at the door. Cost is $5 – a bargain! Even if you can’t attend the feed, consider a donation to help these young curlers defray the cost of travel to Alaska.