Archive | Club News

RSS feed

Results from the Bruce Bennett Over 40 Memorial Bonspiel

40 teams competed in The Bruce Bennett Over 40 Memorial Bonspiel, January 7,8 and 9, 2011. The committee and the Duluth Curling Club wish to thank all who participated. There were 2 teams from Superior, 1 from Rice Lake, 5 from St. Paul, 2 from Hibbing, 1 from Stevens Point, 1 from Two Harbors, 1 from Fort Francis, 8 from Thunder Bay and 19 from the DCC. The Bruce Bennett Memorial Service to Curling Award was presented to Linda Christensen, DCC Club President on Monday, January 10, 2011.

The event winners and runners up are listed here:

Main Event Winner – Brian Simonson – Hibbing
Brian Simonson, Jim Milosevich, Don Mohawk and Ben Gadeski.

Main Event Runner Up – Dave Running – DCC
Dave Running, Ron Gervais, Mike Huska and Gene Running

Second Event Winner – Mike Marquardt – DCC
Mike Marquardt, Tom Zeman, Jerry Priley and Jeff Anderson

Second Event Runner Up – Jim Luttinen – DCC
Jim Luttinen, Bob Johnson, Scott Walker and Steve Moeller

Third Event Winner – John Eustice – St. Paul
Randy Cumming, Mike Schneeberger, Vince Bernet and John Eustice

Third Event Runner Up – Phil DeVore – DCC
Phil DeVore, Seppo Sormunen, Larry Sharp and Doug Cameron

Fourth Event Winner – Vesa Jarvela – Thunder Bay
Vesa Jarvela, Dom Pelaia, Hannu Juurakko and Rick Sandberg

Fourth Event Runner Up – Charles Simpson – Thunder Bay
Charles Simpson, Glenn Kilpatrick, Steve Gillespie and Dave Brown

Curling Fun Night January 28th

Our only fun night this season!! All adult curlers of the DCC are invited as well as your family and friends.  Instruction will be offered for new curlers. Fee is $5 for non members. Food and Bar service available. Party Marty will be there – join in the fun!

Draw Times for the Bruce Bennett Over 40 Bonspiel

Here is the draw for the Bruce Bennett Over 40 Bonspiel – January 7, 8 and 9, 2011
Friday January 7, 2011
4:00 PM
Ross Litman, DCC vs Jim Luttinen, DCC
Bud Somerville, Superior CC vs Dick Priley, DCC
Barry Potter, Thunder Bay vs Doug Slosson, DCC
Jim Geurand, Thunder Bay vs Jim Parmeter, DCC

6:00 PM
Larry Anderson, Rice Lake CC vs Jeff Ritchie, DCC
Jim Bradshaw, Superior CC vs Dick Fabini, DCC
Tom Brozic, DCC vs Dan Jackson, Thunder Bay
Jay Osbakken, Two Harbors CC vs Ron Brisbin, DCC
Bryan Skrabek, Thunder Bay vs Mike Marquardt, DCC
Jeff Erickson, DCC vs Lionel Locke, St. Paul CC
Bruce Hill, DCC vs Larry LeBlanc, DCC
Bryan Simonson, Hibbing vs Roger Hendrickson, DCC

8:00 PM
Phil DeVore, DCC vs Phil Dzuba, Port Arthur CC
Mike O’Neil, St. Paul CC vs Ian Journeaux, Stevens Point CC
Dave Running, DCC vs Jim Hill, Hibbing CC
George Host, DCC vs Merlin Orvick, St. Paul CC
Mike Clabaugh, DCC vs Gary Manula, Thunder Bay CC
Kent Brorson, DCC vs Tim Nordin, Fort Francis CC
John Eustice, St. Paul CC vs Vesa Jarvela, Fort William CC
Art Jytyla, St. Paul CC vs Charles Simpson, Thunder Bay


Dick Wicklund

Join the New Curlers League!

The second half of the New Curler League starts Wednesday! If you know anyone interested in joining the 7:00 Wednesday New Curler’s League, get them on board for the second half of the season. They can join us on Wednesday, January 12 for the half-season new curler membership rate of $95! Sign up at the office.

Free Individual Curling Instruction

Do you have a New Year’s resolution to improve your curling delivery? Free help/self help for the New Year’s weekend! Video analysis and individual instruction will be available Saturday, New Year’s Day, 2:00-4:00, and on Sunday, 1:00-3:00. Longer hours if needed. Sign up at the office, or email Phil at

UMD Intramural Fundraiser Bonspiel

February 5th and 6th, 2011, will be the dates for the First Annual UMD Intramural Fundraiser Bonspiel. Cost per team is $100.00 with proceeds going to help fund the UMD Intramural program. Limited to the first 32 teams entered. We would like to have a minimum of 1 DCC member per team with students filling out the balance. Six end games and a spaghetti dinner on Saturday evening. DCC members can sign up in the office, students can sign up with the intramurals office or DCC office.

Junior Curling 12/21/10 Cancelled

In keeping with our mission statement for Junior Curling, when the Duluth Schools are cancelled, Junior Curling is also cancelled. Our next Junior curling event is Tuesday, Jan. 4, 2011.

MIXED DOUBLES National Curling Championships (12/8/2010 through 12/12/2010)

The USCA National Curling Championship for Mixed Doubles will be held beginning Wednesday, December 8, 2010 and conclude on Sunday, December 12, 2010.

There will be curling ice preparation and practices on Wednesday, December 8, 2010 and therefore there will be no open ice for any practices, one on one games, or flex games. The Wednesday leagues and Thursday leagues are canceled.  No plans are in place to make them up.

The UMD Intramural league for Wednesday December 8, 2010 has been moved to Sunday, December 5, 2010 at 8:00 pm, immediately after the completion of the 6:00 pm Open league.  The club will need extra volunteers for officiating, score posting and also ice maintenance.


Thanks  –  Dick Wicklund