Archive | Club News

RSS feed for this section

Lounge opens for live stream of Men’s finals

The lounge will open at 1:30 pm Saturday, Feb. 21, 2015 for the Men’s Championship finals.  Come and watch Team Shuster and Team Brown battle for the USCA Men’s National title.  There will be no food available but the bar will be open.

Duluth Juniors perform well at St. Paul Junior Spiel

Congratulations to Lucas Goetzman, Cody Lau, Trenton Thomas, & Brock Yecoshenko.  The gentlemen are the 2015 Kyle Satrom Memorial Jr. Spiel (St. Paul Curling Club) Developing Division Champions.

Congratulations are also due for the Harstad rink : Jon Harstad, Jack Payette, Brody Russell, and Paul Bastianelli.  They were the winners of the 4th event in the Competitive division. (sorry, no photo)

Good Curling!


2015 International Results

Results from the Duluth International Open Bonspiel – February 13, 14 and 15, 2015 at the Duluth Curling Club:


Main event: The Mike Farbelow rink – St. Paul and Duluth defeated the Ross Litman rink – Duluth Team Farbelow players – Mike Farbelow, skip, Dean Birman, vice, Riley Geissler, second and Erik Lofald, lead.

B event: The Phil DeVore rink – Duluth defeated the Dan Hebl rink – Two Harbors   Team Devore players – Phil DeVore, skip, Terry Christensen, vice, Jon Wirtanen, second and Lucy DeVore, lead.

C event: The Doug Cameron rink – Duluth defeated the Frank Kaszuba rink – Duluth   Team Cameron players – Doug Cameron, skip, Roger Hendrickson, vice, Mike Gorichs, second and Kris Cameron, lead.

D event: The Jim Bradshaw rink – Superior defeated the Bruce Hill rink – Duluth   Team Bradshaw players – Jim Bradshaw, skip, John Bradshaw, vice, Steve Bradshaw second and Erin Bradshaw, lead.

Duluth Curlers head to Nationals

The 2015 National Championships get started tomorrow in Kalamazoo, Mi. The championship will run from Feb. 14th-21st. Many Duluth curlers will be competing, including: Aileen Sormunen, Anna Bauman, Cory Christensen, Courtney George, Sophie Brorson, Chris Plys, Joe Polo, John Shuster, Tyler George, John Landsteiner, and Ethan Meyers. Good curling everyone!

View all Qualified Teams

Click Here for Live Scores

Click Here for Live Webstream

Webstream schedule:

Saturday, 4:30 p.m. ET Cory Christensen v. Aileen Sormunen
Saturday, 8:30 p.m. ET Ethan Meyers v. Dean Gemmell
Sunday, 8 a.m. ET Debbie McCormick v. Joyance Meechai
Sunday, 12 p.m. ET Korey Dropkin v. Mark Haluptzok
Sunday, 4 p.m. ET Kate Bert v. Jordan Moulton
Sunday, 8 p.m. ET John Shuster v. Heath McCormick
Monday, 8 a.m. ET Kim Wapola v. Erika Brown
Monday, 12 p.m. ET Craig Brown v. Brandon Corbett
Monday, 4 p.m. ET Aileen Sormunen v. Patti Lank
Monday, 8 p.m. ET Dean Gemmell v. Brady Clark
Tuesday, 10 a.m. ET Nina Roth v. Cory Christensen
Tuesday, 3 p.m. ET Paul Pustovar v. Ethan Meyers
Tuesday, 8 p.m. ET Jordan Moulton v. Debbie McCormick
Wednesday, 8 a.m. ET Heath McCormick v. Korey Dropkin
Wednesday, 12 p.m. ET Patti Lank v. Kate Bert
Wednesday, 4 p.m. ET Brady Clark v. John Shuster
Wednesday, 8 p.m. ET Erika Brown v. Nina Roth
Thursday, 8 a.m. ET Brandon Corbett v. Paul Pustovar
Thursday, 12 p.m./4 p.m. ET Tiebreaker games, if needed
Thursday, 8 p.m. Page playoffs, women’s teams to be determined
Friday 12 p.m. Page playoffs, men’s teams to be determined
Friday, 4 p.m. ET Women’s semifinal
Friday, 8 p.m. ET Men’s semifinal
Saturday, 10 a.m. ET Women’s final
Saturday, 3 p.m. ET Men’s final

DCC hosting MN State Mixed Championship this weekend

Duluth is hosting the Minnesota State Mixed Championship this coming weekend. There is a very strong field vying to be the regional representative at this year’s Nationals. The World Curling Federation has established a World Championship as of next year. This year’s US champion will be the first representative at this world competition.
Draws will be at 9, 2 and 7 Friday and Saturday, and 8:00 AM Sunday. Stop by and enjoy some great curling. Duluth teams/players include: Team Kraus – Jason and Jamie Kraus, Regis and Kerry Hadiaris, Team George – Tyler and Courtney George, Derek Benson, and Lysa Johnson, Team DeVore – Phil DeVore, Norma O’Leary, Lee Leksell, and Lucy DeVore, and Team Jukich – Andy Jukich, Amanda Lilla, John Lilla, and Mary Shields. Follow the Championship here.

Duluth Curlers win big at Junior Nationals

Congratulations to the Cory Christensen (Cory Christensen, Sarah Anderson, Mackenzie Lank, Jenna Haag and Taylor Anderson) and Ethan Meyers rinks (Ethan Meyers, Quinn Evenson, Steven Szemple and William Pryor) on winning the 2015 USA Curling Junior National Championships in Devils Lake, ND. The teams will represent the U.S. at the 2015 World Junior Championships in Estonia Feb. 28-March 8.

Duluth International Open Bonspiel – February 13 – 15, 2015

Sign up now for the Duluth International Open Bonspiel – February 13 – 15, 2015.  Any team – Men’s – Women’s – Mixed or Open roster welcome.  Limited to the first 32 teams.  Three game guarantee.  Drawing for free lodging at the Radisson Duluth.  Sign up online or email

Norma O’Leary Rink Wins State Club Championship

Congratulations to the Norma O’Leary Rink (Norma O’Leary, Jamie Kraus, Mary Shields, and Sara Shuster) on winning the ladies club State Championship.  The team will now advance to the 2015 USA Curling Club National Championships March 7-14 at the Fargo-Moorhead Curling Club.   Congratulations ladies and Good Curling in Fargo!