Archive | Club News

RSS feed for this section

Welcome Home Social for Team Shuster!

Join us Tuesday, Dec 17th to welcome home Team Shuster from the Olympic Qualification event in Germany! The event will run from 5-6pm. Come give your congratulations to the team and join us in welcoming them back!

Duluth Teams represent USA at World University Games

The 2013 Winter World University Games will run Dec. 12-21 in Trentino, Italy. Both teams representing the USA are from Duluth!

For the ladies, Team USA is: Cory Christensen, Becca Funk (McFarland, Wis.), Anna Bauman, Mackenzie Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.), and Sonja Bauman.  On the men’s side Chris Plys, Stephen Dropkin (Southborough, Mass.), Sean Beighton (Seattle), Korey Dropkin (Southborough, Mass.), Tom Howell (Brick, N.J.) will represent the USA.


Team USA competition schedule (all times Duluth, MN time):

Draw 1 vs Switzerland: Thu Dec 12 at 2am
Draw 2 vs Japan: Thu Dec 12 at noon
Draw 3 vs. Korea: Fri Dec 13 at 7am
Draw 4 vs Russia: Sat Dec 14 at 2am
Draw 5 vs Italy: Sat Dec 14 at Noon
Draw 6 vs Sweden: Sun Dec 15 at 7am
Draw 7 vs Canada: Mon Dec 16 at 2am
Draw 8 vs China: Mon Dec 16 at Noon
Draw 9 vs Great Britain: Tue Dec 17 at 7am
Finals Dec 19th and 20th
Draw 1 vs Norway: Thu Dec 12 at 7am
Draw 2 vs Czech Republic: Fri Dec 13 at 2am
Draw 3 vs. Sweden: Fri Dec 13 at Noon
Draw 4 vs China: Sat Dec 14 at 7am
Draw 5 vs Switzerland: Sun Dec 14 at 2am
Draw 6 vs Great Britain: Sun Dec 15 at 7am
Draw 7 vs Canada: Mon Dec 16 at 2am
Draw 8 vs Italy: Tue Dec 16 at 2am
Draw 9 vs Korea: Tue Dec 17 at Noon
Finals Dec 19th and 20th


Follow the tournament progress here

Follow Team Shuster in Germany

Follow Team Shuster as they compete for USA’s spot at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games!  After winning the US Olympic Trials in November, Team Shuster (John Shuster, Jeff Isaacson, Jared Zezel, and John Landsteiner) now competes in Füssen Germany December 11th-15th.  The top 2 of 8 countries from that tournament will win a berth to the 10 team Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

Live scoring from Germany can be found at

Terry Kolesar from USA Curling will be tweeting live from Germany.  Often providing updates every end:

List of draws (all in Duluth, MN time)

Draw 1 vs Czech Republic: Tue Dec 10th at 9am

Draw 2 vs New Zealand: Wed Dec 11th at 1am

Draw 3 vs France: Wed Dec 11th at 9am

Draw 4 vs Germany: Thur Dec 12th at 2am

Draw 5 vs Japan: Thur Dec 12th at Noon

***Game 5 will be broadcast live

Draw 6 vs Korea: Fri Dec 13th at 5am

Draw 7 vs Finland: Fri Dec 13th at 1pm

Finals: Dec 14th and 15th


More Ways to Follow Team Shuster


Team Shuster @TeamShuster
John Landsteiner @jlandsteiner
Jared Zezel @jaredzezel04
Jeff Isaacson @LaZyIkE_14
John Shuster @shoostie2010
Coach: Tim Muller @im2bz2curl


Duluth Women Win USWCA Senior Spiel 3rd event

The Patterson rink won the USWCA Senior Bonspiel 3rd event on November 24th in Grand Rapids, Mn. In the final game they were down 4 – 0 after two ends, scored one in the 3rd end, and stole one in ends 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8 to win 6 – 4. They also were the winners of the “oldest” team at the bonspiel with a combined age of 295. Team members were Joanne Docteur Lead, Wendy Carlberg 2nd, Bonnie Shea 3rd, and Yvonne Patterson Skip.  Congratulations Ladies!  See the Draws here.

League play and UMD intramurals for Wed. December 4, 2013 are CANCELLED

Due to the heavy snowfall and the expected worsening of the weather this afternoon and tonight,  all league play, including UMD intramurals are cancelled for tonight.  There will be no make up of the scheduled games as there are no extra weeks in our season. The lounge will not be open tonight.  The ice is available for practice.

Turkey Spiel Results

Bill Roach has been running the Turkey Spiel for many years, and for the first time his team won! Ross Litman, Dave Johnson, Bill Roach, and Eric Beste defeated Jess Brozic, Tom Brozic, Evan Host, and Jill Brozic in the main event. In the B event, it was Norma O’Leary over Hudson Turner. In the C event it was Doug Cameron over Don Kozlovski. Congratulations to all!

Turkey Spiel Draw Times

The first draw for the 2013 Turkey Spiel is at 9:30 am Saturday. Gobble Gobble!

Team Shuster Wins the 2014 Olympic Trials

Team Shuster (John Shuster, Jeff Isaacson, Jared Zezel, and John Landsteiner) won the 2014 Olympic Trials after defeating the Pete Fenson rink and Duluth’s Joe Polo in the best of 3 final.  The Shuster rink will now travel to Füssen Germany December 11th-15th to compete in the Olympic qualifying tournament.  The top 2 of 8 countries from that tournament will win a berth to the 10 team Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

Also competing in the Olympic Trials from Duluth were the Tyler George rink (Tyler George, Chris Plys, Rich Ruohonen of St. Paul, and Colin Hufman of Seattle), and the Courtney George rink (Courtney George, Aileen Sormunen, Amanda McClean, and Monica Walker of Mass.)


Shuster rink moves on to Germany From USA Curling

John Shuster’s rink dominates to win U.S. Olympic Curling Trials From NBC News

Duluth curling team wins men’s Olympic Trials From the Duluth News Tribune