Elizabeth Busche Memorial Junior Bonspiel – Dec 7-9, 2018

Elizabeth Busche was the vice skip of the 2012 USA Junior Nationals Championship Team (Team Christensen). Elizabeth was a 19 year old freshman at North Dakota State University – Fargo, who knew the delicate balance of college life and junior competitive curling.  Keane and Jane Busche, her parents, will annually award two $500 educational gifts, from the Elizabeth Busche Memorial Fund, to two junior competitive curlers who are pursuing post-secondary educational degrees, have played down in their state or region, and are in the competitive division of the Elizabeth Busche Memorial Junior Bonspiel.  Junior teams from around the state have come to Duluth to participate in the Elizabeth Busche Memorial Junior Bonspiel.

Bonspiel Details

  • Separate divisions for “competitive” (highly skilled), “developing” (mostly teenagers, with a few remarkable younger teams) and “recreational” (adolescent) teams.
  • Meals for participants included: Friday dinner; Saturday breakfast, lunch, and dinner; Sunday breakfast. Information on meal tickets for accompanying family members will come with your registration confirmation email.
  • Draws begin at 4:00pm on Friday, 10:00am on Saturday, Semi-finals 8:00am on Sunday.
  • T-shirts for all curlers, drawings for prizes, and trophies for winner and runner-up in each event.
  • Elizabeth Busche Memorial Fund will award annual educational gifts. They will be determined and awarded at the sole discretion of Elizabeth’s parents, Keane and Jane Busche.

Registration and Cost Info

  • Register early to guarantee your spot!  Team entry fee for this event is $120, with a deposit of $60 USD due upon registration. Entry for this event is FREE for Duluth curlers.
  • A complete entry and the $60 deposit will hold your spot in the event.  Entry fees must be in US Funds.
  • Entries received without a deposit will be considered invalid and will not hold a spot.
  • You will receive a confirming email once your complete entry and deposit are received, so please include your email address with your entry payment.
  • Entry fees are fully refundable if you cancel more than 7 days in advance of the event.
  • You may also register by US Mail. Please send your name, contact information, and deposit to: Duluth Curling Club, Elizabeth Busche Mem Spiel, 327 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN 55802.  Please make checks payable to “Duluth Curling Club”.
  • Contact us at duluthjuniorcurling@gmail.com if you have questions, or if you would like to curl but do not have a team.

Registered Teams

First (Skip's Name)Last (Skip's Name)Home Club
BenChirkawyPort Arthur CC
First (Skip's Name)Last (Skip's Name)Home Club

Past Winners

  • 2014 Evan Host, Cory Christensen, Quinn Evenson and Ethan Meyers

Register a Team Now!